Verissimo and Amir stepping down as WG10.4 Chair and Vice-Chair and the end of 2018. Succeeded by Elnozahy, Viera, and Patabiraman

October 11, 2018 - Luxembourg

The Working Group 10.4 on Dependable Computing and Fault Tolerance (WG10.4) of the International Federation For Information Processing (IFIP) announced today, that its Chair Paulo Esteves-Verissimo and its Vice-Chair Yair Amir will step down at the expiration of their present term at the end of 2018.

They are also pleased to announce that Mootaz Elnozahy (KAUST, SA) will be the new Chair effective January 1, 2019. He will be supported by two Vice-Chairs, Marco Vieira (University of Coimbra, PT) and Karthik Patabiraman (University of British Columbia, CA).

About IFIP WG 10.4 on Dependable Computing and Fault Tolerance

IFIP Working Group 10.4 was established in 1980 with the aim of identifying and integrating approaches, methods and techniques for specifying, designing, building, assessing, validating, operating and maintaining dependable computer systems, that is those that are reliable, available, safe, and secure. Its 75 members from around the world meet twice a year to to conduct in-depth discussions of important technical topics to further the understanding and exposition of the fundamental concepts of dependable computing.

For more information on IFIP WG10.4 visit

About the International Federation For Information Processing

IFIP is a non-governmental, non-profit umbrella organization for national societies working in the field of information processing. It was established in 1960 under the auspices of UNESCO as a result of the first World Computer Congress held in Paris in 1959. It is the leading multinational, apolitical organization in Information & Communications Technologies and Sciences.

For more information on IFIP visit

Media Contact:

Charles B. Weinstock